University of Utah Logo / Link
Historic Fort Douglas at the University of Utah
Fort Douglas Logo / Link

Welcome  |  History  |  Today  |  Periods  |  Virtual Tour  | Walking Tour  | More Information  |  Disclaimer

Virtual Tour - Neighborhood #7

Neighborhood #7 on site map
Neighborhood #7

Building 512:  The 1901 designation of Fort Douglas as Regimental Headquarters resulted in the need for a larger Post Hospital.  This building, constructed in 1909, was acquired by the University of Utah in 1948 and converted into a dorm called Central Hall, accommodating 112 students.  This building also served as the International House later on.  In 1979, as part of a remodeling project, a two-story screened porch that wrapped around the south half was removed.  In 1988 this building became home to the Rocky Mountain Center for Occupational and Environmental Health.

Building 543:  This unique building, constructed in 1918, was an ambulance garage for the hospital prior to being acquired by the University of Utah in 1948.  The University has used it for storage since acquisition.

Building 500:  Built in 1939, this was a 35-man barrack and medical office for the Army’s medical department prior to being acquired by the University of Utah in 1948.  All of its multiple uses have been medical and research related.  It now serves the Cardiovascular Research Technology Institute.  The two additions are connected to the building via a passage or “hyphen” connection, preserving the architectural integrity of the building.  The first addition (to the south of the original building) was constructed in 1983.  The second addition (to the west of the first addition) was constructed in 1993 and won a Utah AIA Design Award in 1995 for its preservation minded approach.

Buildings 652 & 653:  Building 652 was constructed in 1893, and Building 653 in 1910, to serve as Hospital Steward’s Quarters.  Prior to 1935, they became Non-Commissioned Officer’s Quarters.  The wood siding of Building 652 was covered with aluminum siding in the 1970s.  Both of these buildings originally had wooden porches supported by turned spindle-work posts and balustrades.  In the 1960s, the posts and balustrades were replaced by wrought-iron supports and railings, and the wooden porch decks were replaced with concrete.  Building 653 was moved in 1999.  In the process the rear lean-to addition, similar to the one on Building 652, was removed and the porch was restored back to its original appearance.
Building 653, originally located to the south of Building 652, was moved to make room for the new Heritage Center; allow appropriate open space around Building 655; and preserve both historic buildings as an anchor on the north end of Connor Road.  This solution was reached through exhaustive studies with the architects, the State Historic Preservation Office, the Graduate School of Architecture, and other groups and representatives.  Because demolition was not acceptable to the University, Building 653 was moved in order to preserve the streetscape and context of Connor Road.  The historic buildings remain in their original context with the backdrop of new construction, creating what has been referred to as “a tapestry of complexity.”

Building 515:  Built in 1902, this was a hospital storehouse for the Army prior to being acquired by the University of Utah in 1948.  The University has used it as storage since acquisition.

Building 516:  Built in 1876, this was a 4-body-capacity morgue for the Army before being acquired by the University of Utah in 1948.  The University has used it as storage since acquisition.
Back to the previous site.

Welcome  |  History  |  Today  |  Periods  |  Virtual Tour  | Walking Tour  | More Information  |  Disclaimer

Continue to the next site.